Think before you speak…

If I got pregnant I’d put my kid up for adoption…
My best friend said this to me when we were younger. Her reasoning: I’m too selfish, I don’t have that motherly instinct. I wouldn’t know what to do with a kid.
Ok I understand you feel you wouldn’t be a good mother, but really? You really said that to your adopted friend! Like that supposed to be a better option for her. Not thinking of the child she would be giving up just about her selfish needs. To this day that bothers me… ‘I’m too selfish so I’m going to give my kid to someone else’. Who thinks that’s a reason?
Obviously her.
When people say things like that they have no idea what adoption is really about for the child. Sure they are thinking of the parent but not the child. Imagine growing up without your family first before you say something like that. People that have that frame of mind shouldn’t reproduce. If you can be so nonchalant about just giving up your child you shouldn’t have one. There are plenty of women in this world who would do anything to be in your position. To give life to a human being… and for you to take that for granted is disgusting to me. Maybe by now she has changed her mind, I don’t know. We haven’t spoken in years. Maybe that’s one of the reasons that we don’t talk. No clue.
Some people don’t think before they speak which is detrimental to others. If you don’t know what it’s like to be adopted then you shouldn’t speak on it sometimes. Not saying you shouldn’t have an opinion but think before you speak. Words can hurt despite what you think. Especially when you speak to your friends. 

Leave a Reply

